HOME     |    HISTORY     |   POWER RANKINGS     |    RANKINGS     |    HALL OF FAME     |    GNFA PEOPLE









  British Columbia Spartans (2008)

Years of Operation: 2008


Overall Record:  12-1


First Game: June 28, 2008 @ North King County


First Win: June 28, 2008 North King County


Final Game: Oct 25, 2008 vs San Diego Thunder

League Affiliation:  


North American Football League (Northwest)


Team Headquarters: Langley, British Columbia, Canada





Founders: Casey Souter, Tod Shackelford, Kevin Tomyk, Greg Tomyk


Coaches: Greg Halifax (HC); Tod Shackelford (OC), Cam Yeow (DC), Elmore Abraham,  Casey Souter, Rowan Reeves. Mark Fehrenbacker, Blake Manley, Jeff Manley


Home Field: Neil McLeod Park, Langley, BC

Titles Won


2008 NAFLNw Olympic Division Champions

2008 NAFL Northwest Division Champions




All League

Chase Cantrell, DE (2008 NAFL All Star)


The British Columbia Spartans roared to life in 2008 flying through the NAFL Northwest undefeated until the San Diego Thunder put a stop to the 12 game winning streak.  Following the season, turmoil erupted as players, coaches and owners battled it out eventually leading to the formation of the Langley Longhorns and a number of personnel leaving for the US-based Bellingham Bulldogs. 


Co-Founder Shackelford was asked to resign by the board of directors after financial discrepancies arose and missing money for insurance left the players uncovered for the final games of the season. 


The Spartans, after winning the NAFL Northwest in it's first season did not return in 2009 but remain a community not-for-profit organization in the area.

2008 Schedule/Results (12-1)  
June 28 @ North King County Wildcats 32-7
July 12 @ King County Jaguars 43-6
July 19 West Sound Saints 36-0
Aug 2 Valley Mustangs      W FFT
Aug 9 King County Jaguars 17-7
Aug 16 Kitsap County Bears 37-7
Aug 23 @ West Sound Saints 26-0
Sept 6 @ Valley Mustangs 27-6
Sept 13  North King County Wildcats 43-7
Sept 20 @ Kitsap County Bears 39-12
Sept 27 North King County Wildcats 31-0

Oct 4 Southern Oregon Renegades*


Oct 11 East County Blackshirts*

Oct 25 San Diego Thunder* 20-34



*NAFL Playoffs